My baking experiment #129 – macarons

So… it’s time for something a little more advanced: macarons. I’m not sure what the fascination with macarons is about. I mean, i like macarons but they’re not my favorite dessert. I’ll eat them if they’re in front of me (haha… i’ll eat any dessert in front of me) but i don’t go seeking them. They’re just alright. Not much flavor, not much texture, just eh. I’d much rather eat oreo cookies.

But since there’s much hoopla surrounding these little French cookies, i thought i might as well go ahead and tackle them. There are so many recipes for macarons on the internet. I poured over dozens of recipes and combined a couple that i liked.

http://www.marthastewart.com/969584/french-macarons

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2015/08/12/step-by-step-guide-to-french-macarons/

 

Ingredients: (7-8 macarons)

  • 5 Tbsp almond flour
  • 10 Tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1 large egg white
  • 2 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • filling (buttercream, Nutella, fruit preserves)

Instructions:

  1. In medium bowl, sift together almond flour and powdered sugar.
  2. In large bowl with electric mixer, beat egg white, sugar and vanilla until stiff peaks (3-5 mins).
  3. Pour flour mixture over meringue. Fold with spatula until batter is glossy and has consistency of honey.
  4. Transfer batter into pastry bag with round tip. Pipe out 1-inch rounds an inch apart on parchment-lined baking sheet.
  5. Tap baking sheet firmly on counter a few times to get rid of air bubbles. Let batter rest and dry 30-60 minutes.
  6. Preheat oven to 300°F. Bake for 20 minutes, rotating halfway.
  7. Transfer to wire rack to cool for 10 minutes, and then remove from baking sheet.
  8. To assemble macarons, smear a layer of filling on one shell and top with another.

Macarons are renowned to be difficult to bake, requiring several tries to make a successful batch. After two unsuccessful (but still delicious) attempts, third time’s the charm! I finally made my first batch of French macarons.

The first two times i overmixed my batter and the macarons came out flat with no feet. The third time i just lightly mixed the batter and they turned out perfect! The shells puffed up in the oven and the mythical “feet” appeared out of nowhere! I was so happy i actually jumped for joy! And they taste great! I’m overjoyed!

I hope this was skill and not just luck. I’ll have to make these a few more times to make sure. But now i’m filled with an amazing sense of accomplishment! 🙂

3 thoughts on “My baking experiment #129 – macarons

Leave a Reply

